Chauncey Bailey Project


New America Media and the Maynard Institute have convened an array of Bay Area journalists, as well as highly respected media organizations and local university journalism departments to form an investigative team to honor and continue the work of journalist Chauncey Wendell Bailey Jr., and answer questions regarding his death. Bailey, the editor of the weekly Oakland Post, was murdered on Aug. 2, 2007, while reporting on a story regarding the suspicious activities of the Your Black Muslim Bakery.

In an unusual collaboration, more than two dozen reporters, photographers and editors from print, broadcast and electronic media, and journalism students are launching the Chauncey Bailey Project – an investigative unit that will continue and expand on the reporting Bailey was pursuing when he was gunned down. Devaughndre Broussard, then 19, and a handyman for Your Black Muslim Bakery, has confessed to the crime, according to police, but many questions about the possible motive for the killing have yet to be answered.

Participants in the The Chauncey Bailey Project are:

Advisers: Sandy Close, executive editor, New America Media; Neil Henry, dean, University of California-Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism; Linda Jue, Executive Director/Editor, G.W. Williams Center for Independent Journalism and president, Society of Professional Journalists РNorthern California Chapter; Dori J. Maynard, chief executive officer, Robert C. Maynard Institute for Journalism Education

Executive editor: Robert J. “Rosey” Rosenthal, executive director, Center for Investigative Reporting

Bruce B. Brugmann, editor and publisher, San Francisco Bay Guardian
Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig, former city editor, Oakland Tribune
Cristina Gastelu, executive producer, special projects, KTVU-TV
Steve Jones, city editor, San Francisco Bay Guardian
Kevin Keane, vice president, news, Bay Area News Group
Michelle Maitre, former assistant managing editor, Oakland Tribune
Mike Oliver, projects editor, Bay Area News Group
Raul Ramirez, executive director, news and public affairs, KQED-FM
Tim Redmond, executive editor, San Francisco Bay Guardian
Martin Reynolds, editor, Oakland Tribune
Pamela Turntine, managing editor, Oakland Tribune
Pete Wevurski, managing editor, news, Bay Area News Group

Reporters and producers:
Kristin Bender, reporter, Bay Area News Group
Cecily Burt, reporter, Bay Area News Group
Bob Butler, independent journalist
Judy Campbell, reporter, KQED-FM
Roland De Wolk, reporter/producer, KTVU-TV
Mary Fricker, independent journalist
Steve Fyffe, producer, KGO-TV ABC7
Angela Hill, reporter, Bay Area News Group
Amber Lee, reporter, KTVU-TV
Dan Noyes, reporter, KGO-TV ABC7
Cliff Parker, director of video production, New America Media
Thomas Peele, reporter, Bay Area News Group
Josh Richman, reporter, Bay Area News Group
Beth Rimbey, producer, KGO-TV ABC7
Paul T. Rosynsky, reporter, Bay Area News Group
G.W. Schulz, reporter, San Francisco Bay Guardian
David Stevenson, reporter, KTVU-TV
A.C. Thompson, reporter, New America Media
Kevin Weston, reporter, New America Media
Rita Williams, reporter, KTVU-TV

Writers, researchers, data analysts, contributors: L.A. Chung, Mark Cooley, Tammerlin Drummond, Gene Durnell, Douglas Fischer, Ethan Harp, Harry Harris, Ken Kim, Sally Lehrman, Veronica Martinez, Erin McKinney, Chris Metinko, Christine Morente, Dave Newhouse, Brenda Payton, Richard Prince, Kelly Rayburn, Lani Silver, Michael Stoll

Photographers, video editors and multimedia producers: Ron Acker, D. Ross Cameron, Ray Chavez, Carrie Ching, Sean Connelley, Rhyen Coombs, Aric Crabb, Doug Duran, Antonio Franco, Tony Hodrick, Nick Lammers, Bob Larson, Karl Mondon, Laura A. Oda, Cliff Parker, Nancy Pastor, Lisa Pickoff-White, Dan Rosenstrauch

Supporting web developer:  Brandon Holcombe

Web producers: Kara Andrade, Carrie Ching, Rhyen Coombs, Andrew Palma, Lisa Pickoff-White

Web designer and developer: Harris Rashid

Copy editors: Kathy Miedema, Michael Winter

Legal counsel: Duffy Carolan of Davis Wright Tremainelaw firm, San Francisco

Student journalists: Emma Brown, Trey Bundy, Rhyen Coombs, Marguerite Davenport, Vianna Risa Davila, Marnette Federis, Lyra Frederick, Angela Hart, Nick Kusnetz, Robert Lewis, Anna McCarthy, Danielle McNamara, Andrew Palma, Anna Belle Peavey, Lisa Pickoff-White, Lucie Schwartz, Sabrina Shankman, Robin Urevich.

Fundraisers: Bob Butler, Sandy Close, Mary Fricker, Neil Henry, Linda Jue, Dori J. Maynard, Robert J. Rosenthal

Funding for the project has been provided by, in chronological order: UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism, Sigma Delta Chi Foundation; Knight Foundation; G.W. Williams Center for Independent Journalism; National Association of Black Journalists; The Newspaper Guild; The California Endowment

Technical assistance is being provided by: Investigative Reporters and Editors, Inc.

Participating organizations: Bay Area Black Journalists Association; Bay Area News Group (Contra Costa Times, Oakland Tribune, San Jose Mercury News, Fremont Argus, Hayward Daily Review, Tri-Valley Herald, Valley Times, East County Times, Alameda Times Star, San Mateo County Times); CBS 5; Center for Investigative Reporting; Investigative Reporters and Editors, Inc.; KCBS-AM; KGO-AM; KGO-TV ABC 7; KQED Public Radio; KTVU-TV; Maynard Institute for Journalism Education; National Association of Black Journalists; New America Media; G.W. Williams Center for Independent Journalism; Oakland Post, San Francisco State University Journalism Department; San Francisco Bay Guardian; San Jose State University School of Journalism and Mass Communications; Sigma Delta Chi Foundation; Society of Professional Journalists – Northern California Chapter; University of California-Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism

Recent Archives